The cognitive development theory can be best shown in my life through athletics.

“Like psychoanalysis, cognitive development explains gender identity development as a mental process.  Like social learning, it notes that children will behave according to social norms of gender.  Cognitive development theory is different from social learning because the assumed motive for learning gender is not a desire to mimic others or to attain rewards from others but a desire for self development and competency” (DeFrancisco & Palczewski, 2007).

I have used the cognitive development theory in many tennis matches that I’ve played.  When an individual is out on the tennis court, there is no one to help them because it is an individual sport with no form of coaching whatsoever.  If things get tough, players have to rely on themselves to pull them back up.  Finding a will to win in my opinion demonstrates the cognitive development theory.  I have demonstrated this many times when I have come back from a large deficit to become victorious at the end.  This ability and skill I have accomplished cannot be taught or learned.  It comes deep within an athlete’s heart and sole.  Many professional athletes exemplify this competency.  However, there are some athletes who can’t ever figure this out, and that’s one of many things that make sports intriguing to watch.

