I am a very gifted person when it comes to remembering things.  I am always referred to as “rain man” by my parents.  At the age of four, I can remember all the things my parents and I did together while we lived in New York.  At that time, my Dad was playing minor league ice hockey for the NYFD (yes that’s an actual team, not the fire department).  He had been playing ice hockey since he was little.  He also enjoyed playing soccer and basketball as a teenager so he was very athletic.  When I was a toddler, my Mom would go watch every game he played in while my sister and I were babysat at home.

So, at the age of four, I remember one of the first hockey games I had ever been to, and my Dad was playing in it!  All children aspire to be just like their Mom or Dad so I in fact used the social learning theory.  In our textbook, “this theory examines the socialization process whereby children internalize many identities and norms of behavior, not just gender.  The theory portrays socialization as a passive process in which children learn by watching and imitating others” (DeFrancisco & Palczewski, 2007).  I demonstrated this theory because I wanted to be just like my Dad after watching his game.  This is when I first started to play ice hockey.  Days later, I had a hockey stick and goal in my driveway.  My Dad was one of the “bad boys” on his team, so he would exemplify aggression and determination.  In my driveway, I would make up game-like scenarios and use aggression and determination to score an “imaginary” goal.  Even though I do not play ice hockey anymore, I used what I observed from my Dad in the past to my advantage and turned out to be a pretty talented ice hockey player.

